Wednesday, December 5, 2018

Cult City: Jim Jones, Harvey Milk, and 10 Days That Shook San Francisco by Daniel J. Flynn



If someone accuses you of “Drinking the Kool-Aid”, the intention is to be saying that you are following along with an ideology blindly or that you are mindlessly buying into a what someone else wants you to believe.

When you read Cult City: Jim Jones, Harvey Milk, and 10 Days That Shook San Francisco by Daniel J. Flynn, you will understand why this is incorrect.  

Drinking the Kool-Aid is meant to refer to the mass suicide of over 900 people in Guyana, South America, back in November 1978.  But, no one at Jonestown drank any Kool-Aid.

That is just a very small part of the distorted information that we got from the news following this event.  The news media at that time wanted us to believe that no one saw this coming. If you believe that, you Drank the Kool-Aid.

Enquiring minds wanted to know back then.  In fact, The National Enquirer was one of the few media sources that got things right.

We are doomed to repeat this event because those who don’t know their history are doomed to repeat it.  Most of us don’t know the true history of the mass suicide. Most of us don’t know that our government had every reason to know what was going on.

Cult City is chock full of information about a series of events and a web of things that combined to make such a thing possible.  You will find how history was revised and we have all been forced to drink the Kool-Aid by the media and others.

This book is very eye-opening.  It does have multiple uses of The Lord’s Name in vain.  Readers are carpet bombed with the F-Bomb and we are exposed to the intimate private lives of Jim Jones and many B-rate politicians and celebrities. We disclose this because our readership is mostly Christian and they want to know this.


We were sent a complimentary copy of this book.  We are under no obligation to write any review, positive or negative.

We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

Notice: This post contains affiliate links. If you click a link and make a purchase, we may financially benefit from your transaction, at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support.

Manian Debil Productions is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

McClendon Villa     McClendon Villa's Reviews 
From the Kitchen of McClendon Villa   McClendon Villa at Blogger
P. S. Annie  P S Annie at WordPress
P. S. Annie 2
Random Thoughts and Observations   Redneck MBA
How to Manage Your Monkey at Blogger   How To Manage Your Monkey at WordPress
Reviews By David and Suzanne
Book Reviews By Bird     Book Reviews By Bird 2

Book Reviews by Bird at WordPress

Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Creating Sales Stars: A Guide to Managing the Millennials on Your Team by Stephan Schiffman with Gary Krebs ISBN: 978-0-8144-3938-8




Many of we baby boomers see the Millennial Generation as a bunch of work-brittle, entitled, lazy, people who expect to be paid for not working. Many of us have experienced this first hand.

In the book Creating Sales Stars: A Guide to Managing the Millennials on Your Team by Stephan Schiffman with Gary Krebs, we are told that nothing could be further from the truth.

So, the question here is, do you trust what you see and experience or what an author tells you is the truth?

Readers are also told why we should adapt our way of looking at this generation.  The tone of the book appears to be, “Just deal with it”. We are given a lot of WHY we should just deal with it and only a little of HOW to deal with it.

There may be a little truth to what the author teaches. The fact remains that we are in a job seekers’ market because this generation switches jobs often and expects to be paid well while being trained. This book could well make the case that we have developed a new career, “Trainee”. Meanwhile, more and more jobs go overseas to places where people WILL work.

The book is well written and does provide some excellent advice.  However, reading this book won’t solve your problem. What it will do is make you feel a lot less empowered and, if you are the owner of a company, will probably make you want to close up shop or move to another country.

In the book, the author speaks of how ethical this generation is.  There may be some validity to that but, readers should trust what they see in the real world and not what they read in a book.  This is the same generation that often cheated on tests in college and also expected good college grades for very subpar work.

We can only give this book a mediocre rating and very little in the way of recommendation.  This isn’t so much because the writing is flawed; it isn’t. We give it an average rating because the premise is flawed.


We were sent a complimentary copy of this book.  We are under no obligation to write any review, positive or negative.

We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

Notice: This post contains affiliate links. If you click a link and make a purchase, we may financially benefit from your transaction, at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support.

Manian Debil Productions is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.


McClendon Villa     McClendon Villa's Reviews 
From the Kitchen of McClendon Villa   McClendon Villa at Blogger
P. S. Annie  P S Annie at WordPress
P. S. Annie 2
Random Thoughts and Observations   Redneck MBA
How to Manage Your Monkey at Blogger   How To Manage Your Monkey at WordPress
Reviews By David and Suzanne
Book Reviews By Bird     Book Reviews By Bird 2
Book Reviews by Bird at WordPress

Monday, December 3, 2018

Code Name: Papa Book 2: My Extraordinary Life While Hiding in Plain Sight by John Murray ISBN: 978-0-9994502-5-3



One thing that makes me sad is that the nature of this book excludes it from some of our blogs.  It won’t fit the business, personal finance, or religious categories, which means some of our followers won’t get to know about how wonderful Code Name: Papa Book 2: My Extraordinary Life While Hiding in Plain Sight by John Murray really is.

This is book two in the series. We have not read Book One, yet. We hope to.

This is a very different kind of spy thriller. The main reason is that it is all true. When one reads fiction, you pretty much know exactly what is going to happen.  This is not so when you deal with cold, hard facts.

The stories are excellent and very entertaining.  This is the kind of book that makes one walk into walls.  You know, you don’t want to stop reading, but you really have to do other things, too.  You don’t put the book down (until you have to) and then, smash, right into the wall. Maybe this book should come with a danger warning.

If you love a good spy vs spy book, Code Name: Papa: Book 2 can’t be beat.  This will make a great gift for that military buff, history buff, or avid reader on your list.  A serious word of warning: if you are claustrophobic, you will want to refrain from reading this book.

Grab several copies today and start doling them out.  


We were sent a complimentary copy of this book.  We are under no obligation to write any review, positive or negative.

We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

Notice: This post contains affiliate links. If you click a link and make a purchase, we may financially benefit from your transaction, at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support.

Manian Debil Productions is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.


McClendon Villa     McClendon Villa's Reviews 
From the Kitchen of McClendon Villa   McClendon Villa at Blogger
P. S. Annie  P S Annie at WordPress
P. S. Annie 2
Random Thoughts and Observations   Redneck MBA
How to Manage Your Monkey at Blogger   How To Manage Your Monkey at WordPress
Reviews By David and Suzanne
Book Reviews By Bird     Book Reviews By Bird 2
Book Reviews by Bird at WordPress

Flourish Financially: Values, Transitions, & Big Conversations by Kathy Longo CFP®




By now readers of our How to Manage Your Monkey blog know we read and review hundreds of books on personal finance and financial planning. We would have to say that
Flourish Financially: Values, Transitions, & Big Conversations by Kathy Longo CFP® is a very different book on the subject.

Whereas most books focus on the nuts and bolts, the undercarriage of your financial condition, this book is focused more on the person and their loved ones and not so much on the portfolio per se.

In this book, readers are treated to ideas about how to open up a dialogue with those involved in the financial planning and find out who they are and why they make financial decisions the way that they do.

You won’t be hammered in the head with such things as how to balance your portfolio.  Why should the author do this when she points out that every person is different and their needs and comfort levels with different investments must be considered?

Longo discusses how to teach children about finances at an early age, how to open conversations with adult children regarding the parents’ finances, and how those adult children should open a dialog with their parents before there is a crisis regarding key financial decisions, where the important papers are, what types of insurance are in place, and medical care decisions.

Our only problem when Longo discusses a spending plan, AKA budget, is that she does not mention tithe.  Giving to charity is completely different than paying a tithe. A tithe is ten percent of your gross income, given first.  It should be paid to your home church and only there.

The author does discuss giving and does a good job explaining different ways to give.

We really think that every adult should read  Flourish Financially.  You will want to give a copy of this to your parents and adult children.




We were sent a complimentary copy of this book.  We are under no obligation to write any review, positive or negative.

We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

Notice: This post contains affiliate links. If you click a link and make a purchase, we may financially benefit from your transaction, at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support.

Manian Debil Productions is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.


Buy From Amazon: https://amzn.to/2PbKnDa


McClendon Villa     McClendon Villa's Reviews 
From the Kitchen of McClendon Villa   McClendon Villa at Blogger
P. S. Annie  P S Annie at WordPress
P. S. Annie 2
Random Thoughts and Observations   Redneck MBA
How to Manage Your Monkey at Blogger   How To Manage Your Monkey at WordPress
Reviews By David and Suzanne
Book Reviews By Bird     Book Reviews By Bird 2
Book Reviews by Bird at WordPress

Sunday, December 2, 2018

300 Best Potato Recipes: A Complete Cook’s Guide by Kathleen Sloan-McIntosh ISBN: 978-0-7788-0278-5



Our family is mostly Irish.  Therefore, we love anything to do with a potato.  This is why 300 Best Potato Recipes: A Complete Cook’s Guide by Kathleen Sloan-McIntosh was such a great book for us.

Not only are there all kinds of easy to follow recipes in this book, there are also a lot of “fun facts” about the potato.  There is sort or a Ripley’s Believe It Or Else” section in the front of the book where readers are treated to some little known facts about the potato.

These recipes are easy to follow with a good bit of detail for each recipe.  It makes following the steps so easy even a husband could follow them.

We think you will love 300 Best Potato Recipes like we do.  We give it all five stars and a slab of bacon.




We were sent a complimentary copy of this book.  We are under no obligation to write any review, positive or negative.

We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

Notice: This post contains affiliate links. If you click a link and make a purchase, we may financially benefit from your transaction, at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support.

Manian Debil Productions is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.



McClendon Villa     McClendon Villa's Reviews 
From the Kitchen of McClendon Villa   McClendon Villa at Blogger
P. S. Annie  P S Annie at WordPress
P. S. Annie 2
Random Thoughts and Observations   Redneck MBA
How to Manage Your Monkey at Blogger   How To Manage Your Monkey at WordPress
Reviews By David and Suzanne
Book Reviews By Bird     Book Reviews By Bird 2
Book Reviews by Bird at WordPress

Saturday, December 1, 2018

The One Year Daily Insights with Zig Ziglar by Zig Ziglar and Dwight "Ike" Reighard



For some time now, The One Year Daily Insights with Zig Ziglar by Zig Ziglar and Dwight "Ike" Reighard has been a part of our lives here at McClendon Villa.  We would love to tell you that we read it every day, but that would not be the case; we do slip up from time to time.

We love the way this devotion has a different devotion for every day of the year, except February 29.  On leap day, we just have to read the devotion for a different day twice that year. That also makes it a good day to catch up on any that got missed due to life’s challenges.

We believe this devotion written, in part, by the inspirational Zig Ziglar, makes a great source for daily devotions to be read together by the whole family, including pets.

And he said unto them, Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.
Mark 16:15 KJV

He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to all creation.
Mark 16:15 NIV


These devotions, like most others, are short and to the point.  This makes it good for reading to the family since those young ones with short attention spans aren’t apt to lose focus during the reading.

We have been big fans of the late Zig Ziglar for many years and are glad that he put his time, along with that of Dwight "Ike" Reighard, into creating this book for us.

This would make a lovely gift for anyone, especially in the imitation leather binding.




We were sent a complimentary copy of this book.  We are under no obligation to write any review, positive or negative.

We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

Notice: This post contains affiliate links. If you click a link and make a purchase, we may financially benefit from your transaction, at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support.
Manian Debil Productions is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.


 

McClendon Villa     McClendon Villa's Reviews 
From the Kitchen of McClendon Villa   McClendon Villa at Blogger
P. S. Annie  P S Annie at WordPress
P. S. Annie 2
Random Thoughts and Observations   Redneck MBA
How to Manage Your Monkey at Blogger   How To Manage Your Monkey at WordPress
Reviews By David and Suzanne
Book Reviews By Bird     Book Reviews By Bird 2
Book Reviews by Bird at WordPress

Thursday, November 29, 2018

God Finds Us: A Book about Being Found by Kristen McCurry Illustrated by Jennifer Hilton ISBN: 978-1-5064-1045-6




If you are a grandparent, by now you have read and seen just about every kids book there is.  Isn’t it great when you find a book that is age appropriate for a very young child that teaches about God while teaching the child other things, too?

You don’t have to have a degree in child psychology to know that peekaboo is fun for the child AND the adult.  But, it teaches the child about object permanence.

God Finds Us helps children to learn that just because they can’t see something doesn’t mean it isn’t there.  Once you have taught the child that, good luck on convincing them that one of those blue guys from the movie isn’t hiding in his closet.

Once the child learns that just because they cannot see something that minute doesn’t mean it no longer exists, the child can more easily understand that God is there even when we don’t see Him.

This book will make a great gift for your child, grandchild, or other child.




We were sent a complimentary copy of this book.  We are under no obligation to write any review, positive or negative.

We are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

Notice: This post contains affiliate links. If you click a link and make a purchase, we may financially benefit from your transaction, at no additional cost to you. Thank you for your support.

Manian Debil Productions is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.





McClendon Villa     McClendon Villa's Reviews 
From the Kitchen of McClendon Villa   McClendon Villa at Blogger
P. S. Annie  P S Annie at WordPress
P. S. Annie 2
Random Thoughts and Observations   Redneck MBA
How to Manage Your Monkey at Blogger   How To Manage Your Monkey at WordPress
Reviews By David and Suzanne
Book Reviews By Bird     Book Reviews By Bird 2
Book Reviews by Bird at WordPress